17 June 2008

The MOJO Honours List 2008

Now, MOJO is a music magazinr I don't think I've ever bought. It tends to celebrate the old classic rock music of times gone by and more "AOR" of today. They held their annual awards ceremony last night and the magazine's music policy is reflected in it's winners.

Five of the MOJO Honours List categories are contemporary, best-of-the-year type awards, voted for online by the readers. Even these acts (rather than all the inspiration type awards) are retro sounding; Duffy (sounds like Dusty Springfield), The Last Shadow Puppets (Scott Walker) and the rest of the awards went to acts that have been around for decades (and many are playing Glastonbury Festival next week)..

The MOJO Breakthrough Act -
The Last Shadow Puppets

The MOJO Song Of The Year -
Duffy (Mercy)

The MOJO Roots Award -
Toots Hibbert

The MOJO Les Paul Award -
John Martyn

The MOJO Vision Award -
Joe Strummer: The Future Is Unwritten (Julien Temple)

The MOJO Catalogue Release Of The Year -
Pillows And Prayers: Cherry Red Records 1981-1984

The MOJO Medal -
Dave Robinson

The MOJO Compilation Of The Year -
Juno OST

The MOJO Legend Award -
Irma Thomas

The MOJO Classic Album Award -
My Bloody Valentine (Loveless)

The MOJO Maverick -
The Fall

The MOJO Hall Of Fame -
The Specials

The MOJO Hero Award -

The MOJO Inspiration Award -
John Fogerty

The MOJO Best Live Act -
Led Zeppelin

The MOJO Outstanding Contribution To Music -
Paul Weller

The MOJO Lifetime Achievement Award -

The MOJO Classic Songwriter -
Neil Diamond

The MOJO Icon Award -
Sex Pistols

No comments: