28 April 2008

PFA Player of the Year ***UPDATED***

Portuguese Manchester United winger, Christiano Ronaldo has retained the title of PFA Footballer of the Year, as voted for by footballers themselves. It hasn't been a great week for Ronaldo, having missed a penalty in the first leg of the Chap ions League Semi Final in Barcelona and losing to Chelsea in the Premier League That loss means Chelsea are only second place to United due to goal difference, with two games to go. That goal difference is partly down to the number of goals Ronaldo has scored, over taking George Best's number of goals for a winger in a United shirt, having put away 38 goals in all competitions this season (plus four for Portugal). He's been sensational but needs to show that he can handle the big games over the next couple of weeks. Well done.

Strangely he lost out in the Young Player of the Year category (which, at 23, he was eligible) to Cese Fabragas of Arsenal, who has had an amazing season too. Ronaldo becomes only the second person to win it two years running.

This is a list of the previous players awarded player of the year by the Professional Footballers' Association:

2008 Cristiano Ronaldo
2007 Cristiano Ronaldo
2006 Steven Gerrard
2005 John Terry
2004 Thierry Henry
2003 Thierry Henry
2002 Ruud van Nistelrooy
2001 Teddy Sheringham MBE
2000 Roy Keane
1999 David Ginola
1998 Dennis Bergkamp
997 Alan Shearer OBE
1996 Les Ferdinand MBE
1995 Alan Shearer OBE
1994 Eric Cantona
1993 Paul McGrath
1992 Gary Pallister
1991 Mark Hughes
1990 David Platt
1989 Mark Hughes
1988 John Barnes
1987 Clive Allen
1986 Gary Lineker
1985 Peter Reid
1984 Ian Rush
1983 Kenny Dalglish
1982 Kevin Keegan
1981 John Wark
1980 Terry McDermott
1979 Liam Brady
1978 Peter Shilton OBE
1977 Andy Gray
1976 Pat Jennings OBE
1975 Colin Todd
1974 Norman Hunter

It's an interesting lust in that it shows how the influx of foreign (not from the "home countries" proliferate after the start of the Premiership, starting with Cantona in 94.
30 April: Manchester United beat Barcelona 1-0 to go through to the Champions League final. Chelsea are playing Liverpool as I type. It's still 0-0 but Chelsea have the advantage of the away goal from the previous leg (1-1). The final will be the first all English file in the competion's history.
***UPDATE 2***
Chelsea went on to win 3-2 after it was 1-1 and went to extra time.

1 comment:

Eamon said...

Many of those pre 94 English players would be as good as some of the foreign stars of recent years (except for Henry who I think would be number one on list overall ..). i think ..